Quebec: Day 1

Hello fellow readers!

This post has been a few days in the making, but as I’ve finally adjusted to my temporary abode here in Quebec City, I may as well give you a run down of what I’ve been up to since arriving here Saturday.

Firstly, if you ever get the opportunity to travel anywhere by train, TAKE IT! Canada is vast and wide, and its woods, wildlife, and waters run far and plenty. Traveling from Toronto to Montreal was a beautiful, albeit long experience. The window acts as your personal TV set, and you’ll never be lacking in nature’s own entertainment factor. We stopped at Kingston, ON for about ten minutes, and I saw a grandfather collecting his wife and grand daughter from the train. The husband and wife hugged, then the two took the girl’s hands and started swinging her back and forth. The kindness and character of many train goers is extremely palpable, and you can experience it from the comfort of your seat.

I’ll admit, there was a lot of farmland that we passed, and the scenery can become pretty mundane. I recommend a good iPod soundtrack to liven up your window seat experience; it’ll give you a pensive demeanor and make you feel like a Hollywood star with a score for your life.

Pulling up to the Montreal platform, my final stop on the first train of the day, I noticed how completely covered the city is in graffiti. Doing more research, I found it’s a staple to the region, a distinct trademark of the unique art scene. This year alone, twenty new murals were completed in various parts of the city, highlighting the urban landscape and citizens. There’s even a festival called Under Pressure, founded in Montreal 20 years ago, that empowers young graffiti artists and establishes community development through ownership and responsibility for a shared artistic space. Leaving the station on my way to Quebec City, I noticed on the wall a message: Love Me. Looking at it, I realized just how much it encompasses the character of Montreal. Though the city is stagnant, abandoned even, terms of industrial development, the city maintains its charm though the work and pride of its inhabitants. Their art remains unaffected, as is their city. It gives off a “love me or leave me” vibe which is extremely refreshing. Too bad I wasn’t able to spend much time in the city to get the full picture.

Anyhow, there’s more to come for my Quebec experience, so stay tuned!

~I

This entry was posted in Guest Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

